School of music
Thinking Aloud
The First Four Notes
Beethoven's Fifth Symphony famously begins with the four note phrase "short-short-short-long." Matthew Guerrieri, author of The First Four Notes: Beethoven's Fifth and the Human Imagination, joins Thinking Aloud to discuss the impact of Beethoven's famous beginning.—Original airdate: 2/7/2013

Listen to Audio

<< Back to archive